About the Spirit​​/​​Smoke Alarms

by Nikko



Nikko’s latest release, a double A-side single entitled 'About the Spirit/Smoke Alarms', features two new tracks taken from the band’s upcoming sophomore album, due for release later this year.

The tracks demonstrate a stylistic change in direction that showcases frontman Ryan Potter’s skills as a songwriter and lyricist, along with the band’s collective ability to craft these skills into distinctive and compelling arrangements.

For special deals with t-shirts go here:

Limited copies of the 7" available thru tenzenmen soon.


released August 22, 2011

Ryan Potter - vocals, electric and acoustic guitars
Sam Whiting - bass
Jackson Briggs - lead guitar, slide
Blair Westbrook - drums, percussion

Guest vocals on 'About the Spirit' by Jacinta Walker
Violin on 'About the Spirit' by Adam Cadell
Piano on 'Smoke Alarms' by Daniel Kassulke

Recorded by Cameron Smith at The Old Museum and Browning Street Studios in June/July 2011. Mixed by Cameron Smith. Mastered by Naomune Anzai at Reel 2 Real Mix Master. Artwork by Trent Evans.

Special thanks to Cam Smith, Nao Anzai, Jacinta Walker, Adam Cadell, Daniel Kassulke, Elanor Khan, Trent "Big Dog" Evans, Shaun Tenzenmen, all of our wonderful friends and family, anyone who's ever bought a recording, come to a show or let us sleep on their floor, and the Brisbane and Australian independent music community. Cheers!


all rights reserved



tenzenmen Mueang Chiang Rai, Thailand

tenzenmen is a world renowned australasian music specialist.

contact / help

Contact tenzenmen

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

tenzenmen recommends:

If you like About the Spirit​/​Smoke Alarms, you may also like: